Quilt tops

These are more of the wonky star block that I love making. I love the jive of the colors, and even some that when they come together I think I don’t like, they grow on me after a while.

I finished the tops in November. There was a trip to Venice, Slovenia, Montenegro, Croatia and Greece, and then Christmas, and then finally I got three of them quilted and bound, one is still on the sewing machine.

These are the unquilted tops:

To you, they may all look the same, but to me, usually one color dominates. I have a lot of fun practicing quilting skills, when I can find enough time in one chunk to quilt. Meanwhile, I have all the reciprocals – dark stars with light backgrounds – to piece and assemble for the next batch. I have a friend who is struggling with a grave enemy, cancer, and it seems it will take a while to battle, more than a year. I think I will make him one of these to cheer him on.

2 thoughts on “Quilt tops

  1. Those are wonderful, cheerful quilts, you have a good eye for color composition. A quilt as the ones you just made would be wonderful and comforting gift for your friend. I know all too well what it means…I sewed one for myself during treatments, it was of great help, each stitch a thought for recovery which is on the way πŸ™‚

  2. worldquilter says:

    Isathreadoflife, I hope you are fully recovered, and have some wonderful self-therapy quilts to show for it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

