Quilt Show Dilemma

Every quilter is different. I know many quilters make quilts exactly as the instructions say, some even buy quilts with all the fabrics provided. I’m just not wired that way. Sometimes I will see something I like, but I don’t want THAT exact quilt, I like some of the ideas, so I let it simmer for a while, and then incorporate an idea into something I want to do.

So I get inspiration from quilts. Right now, I am simmering a cheddar quilt. I’ll know it when I see it. I want to do a Hunter’s Star. I want to do several more quilts in blue and white; they soothe my soul.

Right now, I am readying quilts for a Pensacola quilt guild show coming up in Pensacola March 16 and 17 (9 am to 5 pm); the quilts are due on March 10th.

Two are finished. One top of the two remaining is finished, just needs to be sandwiched and quilted. One top I am still working on.

The one I am working on is not the quilt I planned. I have some gorgeous fabrics I bought years ago; they have been simmering. The are from Den Haan and Wagenmaker and I thought I was going to do a traditional Tree of Life quilt, but things have worked out very differently.

My problem is that I am having a lot of fun working on the quilt, and I have a deadline. What I know about myself is that I am not a person who works well under pressure. Yes, I can do it. No, I don’t like to do that to myself, and I don’t feel I do my best work that way. When I hurry, I make mistakes. I am having a great time, and I love what is coming out of all this, but lurking in the back of my mind is that I really, really, need to get these two quilts done.

I am doing some applique. I really love applique. I love it a lot more than I love quilting. I haven’t been in Pensacola long enough to know anyone I want to quilt my quilts for me, and I guess it is a little anal but there is a part of me that really won’t like what someone else does. I don’t always like what I do, and I can read my own mind! So part of what worries me is that while I am having fun with the applique part, I have the stinky quilting part in front of me, and it isn’t a quilt until it’s quilted.

I need to take a few days from the quilt I am having so much fun with and quilt the other top; that way I will have three quilts of the four I have promised. I keep meaning to do that. . . but I see a space I could work on, you know, the light is perfect, I’ll just take a few minutes . . . and another day and the good light for quilting is gone.

I still have a month. A month and a couple days. That’s a lot of time, if I use it wisely . . .

5 thoughts on “Quilt Show Dilemma

  1. […] the rest here: Quilt Show Dilemma « World in Stitches « Quilternity's Place: Heart quilt blocks & a garland… – wonky […]

  2. momcat says:

    You make me laugh! I always operate in that mode. If they are done, good. If not, submit something else. One of my most treasured finds here is my machine quilter. We have an amazing synergystic effect on each other and she gives me fabulous quilting–so much better than my ideas alone. Many times I just tell her to do what her spirit tells her and she knocks my socks off.

  3. worldquilter says:

    I can’t! It’s all very systemic! I had to provide photos of each quilt I submitted, even if they weren’t finished (and they weren’t!) But I remember when I attended the show two years ago, there were some quilts which had been ‘withdrawn’ and so I know there is an out if I don’t finished.

    The two unfinished are now sandwiched, and each has some quilting. Just under three weeks. Aarrgh, the pressure, the pressure!

    I haven’t been here long enough to find my special quilter. I’ve never had a top quilted by some one else . . . you are right, it is time, but I just have to have the right quilter come along. I want YOUR quilter, Momcat!

  4. momcat says:

    I think it is something like finding a new hairdresser. Look for something you like and find out who did it. Then give them a quilt to do and see hwo they work. I don’t care for the ones who want you to give them instructions–I like the ones who work with you and can see what feel you are going for.

  5. worldquilter says:

    I’ll start looking at the quilt show 🙂 Thanks for the insights.

Leave a Reply

