Jewel Box with Transitions

This is why I love quilting . . . for me, it is the challenge. I’ve always wanted to do a jewel box quilt, and I thought I was going to be making a scrap quilt. Somewhere along the way, I got the idea that I wanted it to be a transition jewel box, with purple in one corner, red in another, yellow in another and green in the final corner. The borders will have transitions from corner to corner, and then the center will have cross-transitions.

It’s not so easy when you make rules. 😉 I had to dig through my stash to find just the right shades, it took me longer to find and cut than it takes to sew up the blocks. This is not going to be quick and easy, aarrgh. On the other hand, I am having a lot of fun with the progress.

This is the only row I have completed; I also completed the yellow block for the bottom right corner, but have not yet done the red-yellow transition:

It will be a while before I can get back to this, as I am traveling. It doesn’t keep me from thinking about where I will go next!

UPDATE

I was out of town for a week and lost a little time, but not momentum. 🙂 As soon as I got back, I started working on the Red to Yellow transition:

And the Yellow to Green transition:

Only six blocks left, all transitions! I have a busy week this week, don’t know if I will get it finished before Friday, but that is my goal. It’s not a hard quilt. It’s the color selection and cutting that takes the most time. I have to admit, there is something in me that loves this process; it’s not like just sewing the pieces together, you really have to think about it.

Final Update:

I love this quilt top. For one thing, it isn’t boring. I love watching the colors as they move across the quilt and change as they are influenced by other colors. It reminds me of my own life, all the different places I lived and how each place has had an impact on me, influenced how I perceived reality, grew in my spiritual life . . . It’s My Jewel Box Life.

I think I will quilt it by hand.

14 thoughts on “Jewel Box with Transitions

  1. Hannah says:

    I love it!!

  2. worldquilter says:

    Hannah, so for you, for leaving this encouraging comment, I have updated the progress 🙂

    Now is the time to hit the souks, early early in the morning. They are full of beautiful things for Ramadan, things you will never see other times of the year. You can actually get there around 0830 (also gets you a parking spot) and be out before the suffocating heat sets in.

  3. Hannah says:

    I love it even more! I can’t wait to see the finished thing! And thankyou for the tip! I might take a trip down there this Saturday, nice and early! I have so much in my mind that I want to make – including 2 baby quilts – 1 for me and 1 for my best friend. I have 4.5 to do both (and work full time until then…. :S)

  4. momcat says:

    Beautiful, my friend! I think of you everytime the new lines of batik come out.

  5. worldquilter says:

    Hannah – you can do it. 🙂 Start simple, and use good fabrics. Wash them first – that is if, like me, you intend for them to really be used. A baby blanket that is used gets a lot of washing. 🙂

    Momcat – Your comments mean everything. 🙂 I’ve had a lot on my plate this last week, but today, today is quilting day! I get to work the green to purple transition, two of my favorite colors!

  6. momcat says:

    Save the best for last–more motivation to get the others done first! I have been working a lot with red/white/black. Doing other stuff in between but I keep going back to those because I have so many ideas for them.

  7. Hannah says:

    Wow… just wow! I LOVE It!!! I’m inspired to make one for myself now! Gorgeous colours, gorgeous pattern… It’s the nicest one I’ve seen for a long long time!

  8. worldquilter says:

    Momcat, I started with my best – the purple, LOL! This was all method mixed with a little whimsey – I had to do the outside border, then work out the inner transitions. I knew I wanted the innermost to be turquoises and parrots, but did not foresee how great the influence of the yellow-re-orange would be. It was all a process, and I loved the process. Thank you for your encouragement.

    LOL at your red / black / white. 🙂 I am eager to see the newest inspiration. 🙂

    Hannah – the actual pattern, the jewel box, is all squares and half squares, easily done. To get the variety, you need to join the quilt guild and ask people to save scraps for you – 2 1/2 inch minimum to 5 inch square for the half square triangles. This particular quilt takes many many fabrics to get those transitional blends.

    It doesn’t have to be this hard – you could do the pattern in two colors, it just won’t have the transitions. I was fortunate to have several batiks I had found in Kuwait which had a lot of color – and pattern – variations within each fabric, and that helped me. The same fabric that had a green, for example, I could also find a section with a golden brown. Happy shopping!

  9. momcat says:

    It turned out AWESOME!

  10. worldquilter says:

    LLOOLL, I’m so glad you like it! 🙂

  11. Hannah says:

    It’s definitely on my ‘to-do’ list! I might even make it to the quilt guild next year… somehow I had something on every single time they met last year…

    How’s the quilting coming along? can’t wait to see another update!

  12. worldquilter says:

    I ended up machine quilting on the diagonal, and now I am doing some elaborate free-motion quilting in the navy half=squares. I actually bound it, but wasn’t fully convinced I had quilted it enough. Another quilter encouraged me to quilt it further. I’m enjoying the process 🙂 I love the quilt 🙂

  13. Hannah Warne says:

    Hey! I just checked back… Is the quilt finished? Any photos of it if it is, and some close-ups of the quilting? I had a first go and ‘transitions’ but it was nothing like yours! I made a cot bumper for my baby, and needed it in a hurry (she kept sticking her legs out and getting stuck!) so it’s just squares, but I’m happy with the way it looks. Plan is to unpick it when she doesn’t need the bumper any more and turn it into a quilt!

  14. worldquilter says:

    Hi Hannah, yes, it is finished. I quilted along the long lines in the ditch, and then I did a free form sort of feur-de-lis in all the large black triangles, and some free motion doodles in the smaller squares. I did more than I normally would because it was going into the quilt show and the quilts for the quilt show are more heavily quilted.

    Good on you for making a start, Hannah! It isn’t easy, but you jumped in, even with a brand new baby! Wooo HOOOOOO on you!

Leave a Reply

