KTAA Show Unveiling

Today was a day we wait for all year long in the Q8Quilters Quilt Guild. We have the big Kuwait Textile Arts Association Show coming up this weekend, so today everybody gathered to share what we have been working on this year.

It’s mostly the quilters gathering, but quilters are often craftswomen in other areas, too. We had some Sadu woven pieces show up, and many bags, thanks to several workshops, and some cross stitch and some embroidered pieces.

The challenge catagories this year are Quilting Motion and Quilting Emotion, and there were some magnificent pieces that showed up. Everyone has been busy finishing up projects to be ready for this weekend.

This is a quilt I made for a very good friend’s newest grandchild. I call it Spring Chaos, because of the lifely, whirling hormonal activity going on. I can hardly wait to give it to her.

This quilt is called Black and White and Blood all over. It has to do with Beirut, and Kenya, and Zimbabwe, it has to do with man-made disasters and natural disasters. It has to do with what happens when we see things in black and white, and are willing to spill blood over the differences. I made it to celebrate a significant graduation. I can hardly wait to give it to my niece.

This last one is for my sister, a sophisticate who loves black and white. I love the way the 8 pointed star fits exactly with the cross. It’s called Reciprocals.

5 thoughts on “KTAA Show Unveiling

  1. momcat says:

    I was wondering what you have been working on. I love them all!

  2. worldquilter says:

    Hahahahahahaha – I was inspired by YOU and your love of black and white and red!

  3. Khadijah says:

    I love the black, white, and red one! I saw it at the exhibition and I saw your name next to it! 🙂
    (All of your other ones were gorgeous too like the one of Africa)

  4. worldquilter says:

    Thank you, Khadijah! I think the Africa one was my favorite because I made it for my husband and because it was a challenge to myself, finding Africa from the kaleidoscope blocks!

  5. […] and Kisses Reciprocals Black and White and Blood all Over Quick Quilts for Charity (Instructions for making two hatchet block […]

Leave a Reply

