Three Orphan Quilts

These are the quilts I made for Alanna’s Orphans. I tried a new technique – it looked so easy when our friend did it. For me, sometimes the “easier” techniques turn out to be harder. Like for me, the dreaded applique comes easy. For me, it is fast. This one was – for me – HARD!

I found myself jumping back and forth from cutting to sewing. I did all the quilting at the end. If I were to do another one, I would maybe quilt as I go, but that means a lot of changing threads. . . no, I don’t think I will do any of these again. Sewing through six layers is difficult to do with accuracy, and then doing the quilting – for me – is not easy. I’m glad I tried it, I’m glad I finished the quilts, and I think I will stick to techniques that work better for me.  

00oq1.jpg

00oq2.jpg

00oq3.jpg

This coming Monday, March 24, all quilters in Q8 are meeting in a huge Quiltathon to put together quilts for the orphanage. Our goal is 20 quilts. I am secretly hoping we complete more!

3 thoughts on “Three Orphan Quilts

  1. sandy says:

    They’re very nice, I’m sure they’ll love them.

    Check out this easy quilt at http://sunimp07.blogspot.com/
    and lots of freebies at http://maryquilts.com

  2. worldquilter says:

    Oh Sandy, wish your group could have joined us in Q8 for the Quiltathon – what fun we had!

  3. Judy Howard says:

    Free Books for Charity Quilters

    I’m donating my three books, Heavenly Patchwork I & II and Centennial Stitches, to any group that does charity quilting. Use them for fund-raising, door prizes or thank-you gifts for your quilters.

    Retailing for $12.95, $14.95 and $39.95, these hard-back gift books are packed 32/case. Limit one case. Free shipping. See sample stories on http://www.HeavenlyPatchwork.com Email BuckboardQuilts@cox.net with address for mailing.

    Under Patriotic Exhibits on http://www.HeavenlyPatchwork.com , see also photos of the 22” God Bless America Quilt Exhibits that are touring the US for 3 years with all profits from the $100/weekend rental going to provide quilts for wounded troops and families of the fallen.

    Deadline to enter your 22” patriotic quilt is December 31. Your drop-down story label is your free advertising traveling billboard with your contact info to tell the nation about your charity quilting and solicit donations and volunteers.

    Reserve this patriotic quilt exhibit for your next show by calling Judy Howard 405-751-3885. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

