Farewell Block

This isn’t utterly original. I found a camel in a coloring book and copied it. I love the batik fabric, with it’s mottled variations, and I love the background fabric, which was probably an upholstery fabric (I found it in Qatar and loved it’s desert coloring).

As I stitched it, I found myself thinking how very much I love hand applique.

The friend I made it for has a soul for adventure. I travelled with her once, and learned to admire her steadfast calm, her utter sang froid, and her ability to manage people without ever once appearing bossy. We will all miss her presence, and her invaluable role-model.

00forjoan.jpg

2 thoughts on “Farewell Block

  1. AJ says:

    I love the fabric for that applique!!! Good idea using a coloring book and again great job picking the fabrics, it looks awesome.

  2. Nima says:

    wow..awesome…

Leave a Reply

