Post-Modern

I know my Mother wonders where I came from . . . but the truth is, she also quilted when she was my age, just not big quilts. Lots of baby quilts, lots of pillow covers.

She was never into country-style, not even French country. Danish modern, black and white all the way.

She was complaining about not having any “fat” tablemats; she doesn’t want hot coffee cups marking her beautiful wooden tables (can’t blame her!) We searched all the stores in vain – “fat” tablemats are just not in style right now.

But I can make fat tablemats!

The design process – never be without your graph paper!

00tablematinstructions.jpg

The finished tablemats:

00formymother.jpg

They could actually be two rows shorter – I made them very generously sized to be sure the coffee cups land on the tablemat. These are 16″ x 24″:

4 thoughts on “Post-Modern

  1. Violette says:

    One of the great things about knowing how to sew is that you can make whatever you want however you want. I’m sure your mother will love the placemats.

  2. worldquilter says:

    She did – she does! I gave them to her yesterday, Violette, and I think she really likes them!

  3. AJ says:

    I love the colors, reminds me of chocolate!

  4. worldquilter says:

    AJ, the chocolate effect is the late afternoon Kuwait sunlight hitting black blocks with gold highlights – the mats are black and white. 😉 This is similar, actually, to your rose lattice, only the 8 pointed star is in the center. When you put eight pointed star blocks together, you get that same cross you featured in Rose Lattice!

Leave a Reply

