Christmas Frenzy

The problem with a specialty blog, like quilting, is that in order to quilt, you have to make the time! When you are in a quilting frenzy – you have less time to blog.

And I have another consideration – I don’t want people running across these photos who might be on the receiving end. I think I am just about safe, now.

For my friend I grew up with in Alaska, who now has Alzheimers, I made a set of napkins and tablemats, and an apron. We looked at this fabric together, I bought some to use for my Dad’s Alaskan Quilt; she passed, thought the fabric was too expensive. I learned a lesson – buy that fabric now! Who knows what may happen tomorrow!

00fordottie.jpg

She made so many sets of napkins for me, and I still have the last set.

The apron is called a “tablier” (tah- blee- ayy’).

When our son started school in Tunisia, we had a list of things to buy him, all of which I could find except this mysterious “tablier”. I thought it might be a writing tablet or board, until someone showed me an apron, identical on both front and back, that children wear when painting or doing work with glue, etc. I liked it so well – and I am so messy – that I figured out how to make it grown-up size, and have been making them for myself and friends ever since.

I even wear the tablier while quilting – keeps most of the threads on the tablier, and not on me! 😉

I hope it will remind my friend of our happier times together, growing up in Alaska.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Frenzy

  1. momcat says:

    My mom has been making these things for years for the senior center (and herself) They are great for those in wheelchairs and with less steady hands etc. She makes them with pockets too. I think I need to make me some too. Never thought about how they would catch the threads. Super great for those of us who live in super thread magnet clothes made of fleece.

  2. worldquilter says:

    Oh! With pockets! What a great idea, Momcat! Love you, dearie, and thanks for a great addition to the tablier.

Leave a Reply

