12 Days Applique

0012daysqs.jpg

My friend Shirley and I were bored, and we challenged one another to this quilt. We had the patternm by Mimi Shimp, but we both changed it dramatically – I wanted the blocks in the order they were sung, so enlarged them all to 18 x 18. We also used the beautiful duppioni silks readily available in Doha, and other more difficult fabrics.

The main motif was totally hand appliqued, but the minor motifs were machine appliqued.

We had given ourself 6 months to get the blocks finished, and another year to hand quilt the resulting top. The reality – after 2 1/2 years, I machine quilted the finished top just to get it done. I am not unhappy. I love this quilt, and I will hang it for one month every year, from December 6th – the Feast of St. Nicholas – until January 6th, the Feast of the Epiphany.

3 thoughts on “12 Days Applique

  1. Evelyn says:

    I love your quilts and your also a very special women and friend, nice to see your quilts on the internet. Hope to see you in the near future. Regards, Evelyn

  2. worldquilter says:

    And YOU are one of my quilting heroes, always with the newest techniques, and always ready, willing and able to share! Hope to see you soon, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. worldquilter says:

    And YOU are one of my quilting heroes, always with the newest techniques, and always ready, willing and able to share! Hope to see you soon, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

