Friendship Star

When we lived in Doha the first time, Desert Storm started, and a lot of Americans left, I didn’t know anyone, and I had a lot of quilting time. I decided I would make a lot of half-square triangles so I would always be able to whip up a baby quilt in a very short time, and I spent days cutting the fabrics, stitching the half-square triangles, ironing, sorting . . .

I made a couple baby blankets, but I still have a lot of half square triangles left. We moved to Kuwait, and I put a quilt together that I could hand quilt at our Tuesday Stitch Group, where I always liked to have hand work to do when I didn’t have a binding that needed stitching on or something.

For all those weeks . . . I didn’t get a lot done. Finally, I machine quilted in the white squares, and then I did some practicing for some new techniques in the star centers. It doesn’t make a lot of sense thematically, but the quilt is done, I’m giving it away and I don’t have to think about it any more.

Finished! Out! Out!

2 thoughts on “Friendship Star

  1. momcatwa says:

    I’ve been wondering what you have been working on lately. Glad for the updates. Isn’t it great to get the UFOs up and out? I try to get one or two resurrected at year. Some years work better than others.

  2. worldquilter says:

    There are some I just don’t want to work on, Momcat. Honestly, my best bet is just to keep working on one till I finish it. I have one that i’ve been working on since Germany . . . hmmmm, more actually . . .

Leave a Reply

